COVID-19 Response

For information about fall semester instruction and campus operations, please visit

During this time, please contact us at

Crowley State 4-H Dairy Leadership Award Winners Announced

Fifteen Wisconsin dairy youth received James W. Crowley State 4-H
Dairy Leadership Awards at the 2007 Wisconsin Junior State Fair.
These youth were rewarded for their outstanding dairy project work.
Each award winner received a plaque provided by the James W. Crowley
Dairy Management and Extension Fund.

Each of the Crowley Award winners also receives a partial scholarship
to attend the National 4-H Dairy Conference to be held Sept. 30 to
Oct. 3, 2007 in Madison. The conference offers participants a chance
to experience hands-on workshops, tour dairy companies, and meet
other young dairy enthusiasts from across the United States and
Canada. The Wuethrich Foundation of Greenwood, Wis. and the Wisconsin
Farm Credit System co-sponsor the scholarships for the Wisconsin

The two top youth, Jacob Kruschke of St. Croix County and Maureen Lee
of Jefferson County, received $500 scholarships for continuing their
dairy educations. In addition to the $500 scholarship winners,
Crowley Award recipients were: Amanda Barkley, Lincoln County; Brian
Coyne, Pierce County; Adam Geiger, Calumet County; Vanna Herrmann,
Manitowoc County; Ty Hildebrandt, Dodge County; Hannah Iverson, Pepin
County; Ben Kinnard, Door County; Jenn Krultz, Clark County; Ashley
Mergen, Grant County; Ashley Nimtz, Green County; Julie Retzlaff,
Juneau County; Zachary Sawall, Waupaca County; and Rebecca
Schlehlein, Waukesha County. Chosen as alternates, and also earning
the opportunity to attend the National 4-H Dairy Conference were:
Justin Elfering, Marinette County and Nicole Smith, Green County.

“We had over 46 youth nominated for the state award as county winners
or extra nominees,” stated Ted Halbach, UW-Madison extension dairy
youth specialist. “This year”s competition was extremely competitive
and this group of award recipients really represents all that is good
about the 4-H project work and the opportunity it provides.”

The judges for this year”s Crowley Awards were Melanie Miller, 4-H
Youth Development Specialist, and Dr. Dave Selner, member of the
Crowley Fund Committee.

“Wisconsin”s dairy future looks bright with top young dairy leaders
like the Crowley finalists coming up through the ranks,” said
Selner. “These interviews really demonstrate the outstanding dairy
youth that are being developed in Wisconsin.”

This award program is in honor and memory of James W. Crowley,
longtime extension dairy specialist at the UW-Madison and strong
supporter of dairy youth project work.


Photo available for download. Please credit Nicole Breunig.

State Crowley Applicants:
(Pictured L to R): Julie Retzlaff, Hannah Iverson, Jacob Kruschke,
Rebecca Schlehlein, Zachary Sawall, Amanda Barkley, Brian Coyne,
Ashley Nimtz, Ashley Mergen, Ben Kinnard, Adam Geiger, Jenn Krultz,
Ty Hildebrandt, Maureen Lee, Vanna Herrmann