COVID-19 Response

For information about fall semester instruction and campus operations, please visit

During this time, please contact us at

UW-Madison outstanding sophomores receive WALSAA scholarships

The Wisconsin Agricultural and Life Sciences Alumni Association recently recognized 10 sophomore students currently enrolled in the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences as Outstanding Sophomores. Each student will receive a $1,000 scholarship for use during the 2005-2006 academic school year. Applicants received the award based upon academics, school and community activities, work experience and a personal interview.

The following students received Outstanding Sophomore Awards:

Nicholas Bowdish, Agricultural and Applied Economics, Monroe, Wis.
Peggy Dierickx, Agricultural Journalism, Monticello, Wis.
Amy Freidig, Horticulture, Middleton, Wis.
Dina Garcia, Bacteriology, Milwaukee, Wis.
Kelly Jones, Bacteriology, Deerfield, Wis.
Nick Kuehnel, Biology, Newton, Wis.
Lea McCullough, Dairy Science and Life Sciences Communication, Juda, Wis.
Haley Mell, Dairy Science and Agricultural Journalism, Arlington, Wis.
Bridget Schigoda, Food Science, Mequon, Wis.
Amber Weisenberger, Dairy Science and Agricultural Education, Ettrick, Wis.

WALSAA is a not-for-profit organization established in 1972. Its 2,000 members are former students of the UW-Madison College of Agricultural and Life Sciences and the Farm and Industry Short Course, as well as friends of the college. Each year WALSAA raises nearly $20,000 for student scholarships.

The scholarship recipients were honored at a special recognition luncheon.