COVID-19 Response

COVID-19 vaccine available to students, employees and the public. Thousands of appointments available this week. Make an appointment now. For more information visit

During this time, please contact us at

Anne Reynolds recognized for significant contribution to cooperative scholarship

Anne Reynolds, former executive director of the University of Wisconsin Center for Cooperatives, will be inducted into the Cooperative Hall of Fame on May 8 in Washington, D.C. Induction into the Cooperative Hall of Fame is the highest honor that the U.S. cooperative community bestows on the extraordinary men and women who have made genuinely heroic contributions in support of the cooperative form of enterprise.

For decades, Reynolds has been a champion for the cooperative model and has dedicated her time to providing direction and resources to sustain and improve a broad range of cooperative businesses. The impact of her work reaches far beyond the borders of Wisconsin.

During her 22-year tenure at the University of Wisconsin Center for Cooperatives, Reynolds shared her extensive knowledge of governance and member-loyalty issues, strategic planning, and innovative uses of the cooperative model. Her efforts span economic sectors, income classes, and cultures, ranging from projects with low-income workers to large agribusinesses. Reynolds spearheaded Madison’s cooperative development initiative, several local food initiatives, and education programs related to board leadership and employee ownership. Reynolds also serves on the boards of Senior Cooperative Foundation, Shared Capital Cooperative, and The Cooperative Foundation. In 2015, she was awarded Cooperative Networks’ Cooperative Builder Award, which honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions at the local, state, and/or national level to advance cooperative philosophy and ideals.

Reynolds joins an esteemed group of cooperators who are honored for their indelible contributions to the cooperative movement. She is the sixth person affiliated with the University of Wisconsin to be granted this recognition. Previous inductees include Marilyn Scholl, Dr. Ann Hoyt, Dr. Richard H. Vilstrup, Tom Lyon, and Glenn Anderson.

If you are interested in learning more about how you can honor Anne Reynolds and help celebrate this great achievement, visit the Cooperative Hall of Fame website at

About the University of Wisconsin Center for Cooperatives:

Established in 1962, the UW Center for Cooperatives focuses on education, research and outreach on all aspects of the cooperative business model, including development, finance, structure and governance. The Center’s interdisciplinary programs build on the resources of the University of Wisconsin–Madison, including the Division of Extension, and are implemented through partnerships with UW faculty, staff and extension agents, federal and state agencies, state cooperative councils, cooperative business groups, and others. For more information, please visit