COVID-19 Response

For information about fall semester instruction and campus operations, please visit

During this time, please contact us at

James W. Crowley Leadership Award Winners Announced

Fifteen Wisconsin dairy youth received James W. Crowley Leadership Awards at the 2006 Wisconsin Junior State Fair. These youth were rewarded for their outstanding dairy project work. Each award winner received a plaque provided by the James W. Crowley Dairy Management and Extension Fund.

Each of the Crowley Award winners also receives a partial scholarship to attend the National 4-H Dairy Conference to be held Oct. 1 to Oct. 4, 2006 in Madison. The conference offers participants a chance to experience hands-on workshops, tour dairy companies, and meet other young dairy enthusiasts from across the United States and Canada. The Wuethrich Foundation of Greenwood, Wis. and the Wisconsin Farm Credit System co-sponsor the scholarships for the Wisconsin delegation.

The two top youth, Annaliese Doornink of St. Croix County and Lydia Hardie of Trempealeau County, received $500 scholarships for continuing their dairy educations. In addition to the $500 scholarship winners, Crowley Award recipients were: Kayla Buske, Dodge County; Loren Daentl, Iowa County; Steven Davis, Walworth County; Lynn Dickman, Green County; Amanda Elfering, Marinette County; Kimberly Fabry, Oconto County; Claudia Hardie, Trempealeau County; Trent Hendrickson, Green County; Abbie Jo Holig, Juneau County; Amanda Knoener, Sheboygan County; Luke Lensmire, Manitowoc County; and Angela Maurer, Calumet County; and Kristin Natzke, Dodge County. Chosen as alternates, and also earning the opportunity to attend the National 4-H Dairy Conference were: Kimberly Burk, Green Lake County; Kelly Johnson, Polk County; and Megan Knorn, Kewaunee County.

“We had over 45 youth nominated for the state award as county winners or extra nominees,” stated Ted Halbach, UW-Madison extension dairy youth specialist. “This year”s competition was extremely competitive and this group of award recipients really represents all that is good about the 4-H project work and the opportunity it provides.”

The judges for this year”s Crowley Awards were Al Schultz, Bob Kaiser and Dr. Dave Selner, who are members of the Crowley Fund Committee. Patti Hurtgen, who is the editor for the Cattle Connection also served as a judge.

This award program is in honor and memory of James W. Crowley, longtime extension dairy specialist at the UW-Madison and strong supporter of dairy youth project work.