COVID-19 Response

For information about fall semester instruction and campus operations, please visit

During this time, please contact us at

John N. Norman honored by American Meteorological Society

John N. Norman, professor of soil science and environmental studies at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, has won the 2005 Award for Outstanding Achievement in Biometeorology from the American Meteorological Society, the nation”s leading professional society for those in the atmospheric and related sciences.

Norman was honored for his “outstanding achievement in advancing the understanding of the soil, plant, atmospheric continuum, done in a spirit of generous cooperation with colleagues and students.” He received the award Jan. 12 at the 85th annual meeting of the AMS in San Diego.

Norman has been studying the relationship between plants and the environment for more than 30 years. He began his career in 1971 at the University of Aberdeen in Scotland, after completing his Ph.D. in soil physics at the UW-Madison. He has also held faculty positions in meteorology at The Pennsylvania State University, plant physiology/agronomy at the University of Nebraska, and soil science and. atmospheric and oceanic science at the UW-Madison. Norman has participated in several major field experiments to better understand soil, plant and atmospheric characteristics and modeling of the soil-plant-atmosphere system. A fellow of the American Society of Agronomy and the Crop Science Society of America, Norman has given more than 100 talks, authored or co-authored 150 articles, co-authored several textbooks, and advised more than 50 graduate students in their studies.

The AMS, founded in 1919, is a scientific and professional organization that promotes the development and dissemination of information on atmospheric, oceanic, and hydrologic sciences. The society publishes nine scientific journals, sponsors scientific conferences, and supports public education and outreach programs across the country. Additional information on the AMS, the annual meeting, and other award winners is available here.