COVID-19 Response

For information about fall semester instruction and campus operations, please visit

During this time, please contact us at

2003 James W. Crowley Leadership Award Winners Announced

Six dairy youth received James W. Crowley Leadership Awards at the 2003 Wisconsin State Fair. These youth were rewarded for their outstanding dairy project work. Each award winner received a plaque provided by the James W. Crowley Dairy Management and Extension Fund.

The two top youth, Chrissy Wendorf of Vernon County and Linda Behling of Dodge County, were awarded $500 scholarships for continuing their dairy education.

Each of the Crowley Award winners also received a partial scholarship to attend the National 4-H Dairy Conference to be held Sept. 29 to Oct. 2 in Madison. The conference offers participants a chance to experience hands-on workshops, tour dairy companies, and meet other dairy enthusiasts from throughout the United States and Canada. The Wuethrich Foundation, Greenwood, Wis., and the Wisconsin Farm Credit System co-sponsor the scholarships for the Wisconsin delegation.

“The Crowley Award competition is a great program that allows outstanding dairy youth to meet new peers who are also active in the dairy industry. It is also a great program to promote record-keeping skills and to develop leadership skills,” according to Ted Halbach, UW-Madison extension dairy youth specialist.

In addition to the $500 scholarship winners, Crowley Award recipients were: Heather Daniels, Kenosha County; Lindsay Morris, Jefferson County; Amber Berning, Iowa County; and Clayton Wohlk, Barron County.

Judges for this year”s Crowley Awards were James Crowley, Jr. and JoDee Sattler.

The award program is in honor and memory of James W. Crowley, longtime extension dairy specialist at the UW-Madison and strong supporter of dairy youth project work.