For the latest updates on UW–Madison plans and responses related to the COVID-19 pandemic, visit

Please note visitors are not allowed in UW facilities and employees are working remotely.

During this time, please contact us at

James W. Crowley Leadershop Award Winners Announced

Thirteen dairy youth received James W. Crowley Leadership Awards at the recently completed Wisconsin State Fair. These youth were rewarded for their outstanding dairy project work. Each award winner received a plaque provided by the James W. Crowley Dairy Management and Extension Fund.

The four top youth were awarded $250 scholarships for continuing their dairy education. Holly Hartly of Crawford County, Katelin Haglund of Pepin County, Nicole Hosto of Green County, and Ashley Huibregtse of Sheboygan County received these scholarships.

Each of the Crowley Award winners is also awarded a partial scholarship to attend the National 4-H Dairy Conference to be held Sept. 30 to Oct. 3 in Madison. The conference offers participants a chance to experience hands-on workshops, tour dairy companies, and meet other dairy enthusiasts from throughout the United States and Canada. The Wuethrich Foundation, Greenwood, Wis., co-sponsors the scholarships for the Wisconsin delegation.

“The Crowley Award competition provides valuable recognition for dairy youth who have excelled in their project work, record keeping and leadership skills on both a county and state basis,” according to Ted Halbach, UW-Madison extension dairy youth specialist.

In addition to the $250 scholarship winners, Crowley Award recipients were: Charlotte Muenzenberger of La Crosse County; Beth Bowers of Waupaca County; Mark Lundy of Jefferson County; Jake Cramer of Jefferson County; Sephira Ceylor of Price County; Robyn Gonske of Barron County; Michelle Gilbertson of Manitowoc County; Mandy Schultz of Sheboygan County; and Peter Dannenberg of Iowa County.

Judges for this year”s Crowley Awards were Tom Earlywine, dairy cattle nutritionist for Land O”Lakes, and Patti Hurtgen, public relations and communications coordinator at Semex USA.

The award program is in honor and memory of James W. Crowley, longtime extension dairy specialist at the UW-Madison”s College of Agricultural and Life Sciences and strong supporter of dairy youth project work.