COVID-19 Response

What you need to know about testing and the new Safer Badgers app. For more information visit

During this time, please contact us at

Bacteriologist Receives National Award For Undergraduate Teaching

Kenneth Todar, a senior lecturer in the Department of Bacteriology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, will receive the 1998 Carski Foundation Distinguished Teaching Award from the American Society for Microbiology on May 20 at the society”s annual meeting in Atlanta.

The award is given each year to recognize an individual for his or her distinguished teaching of microbiology to undergraduates and for encouraging them to subsequent achievements. The award includes a $2,000 cash prize, a plaque, and travel expenses to the society”s annual meeting, where Todar will deliver the 1998 Carski Award Lecture.

Todar received his doctorate and began his teaching career at the University of Texas. A member of the UW-Madison academic staff since 1975, Todar has taught almost 11,000 undergraduates.

The Carski Award is the most recent of several teaching honors for Todar. He received the 1979 Excellence in Teaching Award from the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, the 1993 Underkofler Excellence in Teaching Award from the UW-Madison academic staff, and became a member of the UW-Madison Teaching Academy, a prestigious group of campus educators, in 1997.

In 1990, Todar received a grant from the National Science Foundation to provide students from small colleges and universities with research opportunities at the UW-Madison. Of the 87 participants, 60 are now in graduate school, 17 are in medical school, four are in other professional schools, and six have jobs in industry.

Todar is the fourth member of the bacteriology department to receive the Carski Award since it was first presented in 1969. Previous recipients from the department include: Jerald Ensign, 1992; Thomas Brock, 1988; and William Sarles, 1972.

The American Society for Microbiology in a professional organization with more than 40,000 members representing 24 disciplines of microbiological specialization.